The Joy

Friday afternoon. One hour and forty five minutes of British literature. Enlightenment, romanticism, realism. Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, Charlotte Brontë. A classroom. Twenty three eighteen-year-olds. Two instructors in the back corner taking notes, following my every move. A white-board. An over-head. Me.
 
Teaching means to guide. inspire, lust and love. It is my passion. My gift.
 
Afterwards, as I collect my papers and two dozen teenagers leave the room and run off to the freedom of a weekend break - each with a copy of Oliver Twist. Then, one of the boys lean over my desk.
 
"Åsa," he says, smiling. "You are the best teacher candidate we have ever had. So far."
 
The joy! The joy! The joy!

"G," I say, smiling. "You are the best class I have ever had. So far." 

Kommentarer
Postat av: mom

Min duktiga tös o nu har fler insett det.

2008-02-29 @ 22:33:27
Postat av: Stina

Grattis Gumman! Det va ju den bästa belöningen du kunde få. Nu behöver du inte va lika nervös nästa gång. Många kramar.

2008-03-01 @ 09:46:05
Postat av: Brother

You are the best! Must be great to hear a thing like that! Be proud of yourself!!

2008-03-01 @ 20:31:10

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0