Dear Mr. Dickens,

88514-1591It is often difficult for me to see if I make any progress in my use of English. Common sense tells me that I should get better and better all the time, but it is tricky to measure. Therefore I have had my doubts. Up till now.
  
A couple of years ago, I bought a paper back version of Oliver Twist. In English of course. It was an impulse buy that fed into my highly set goal of one day being able to say that I have read the canon of classic literature.

Excited and hungry for some of Dickens' realism, I started to read - but soon stopped. It was way too difficult. I struggled my way through three chapters before I gave up. I had not understood anything. As a monument of my incapacity, the book ended up in Billy
 
A few weeks ago, when I unpacked my books and tenderly put them back in colorful lines on the shelves, I found Oliver Twist. Stuck in it was the old bookmark - after chapter three. I opened it and started to read. And flew through it.
 
-----------------------------------------------------------

Dear Mr. Dickens,

I finally understand you!
Your language is not a bit difficult anymore, but funny, clever, compassionate, and brilliant. And I love Oliver. He is a darling. Rough start for a kid, but I have a sense it will all be ok. Even though he is in a lot of trouble right now. The others believe he is dead. But I have my doubts. I am only half way through the novel. What would the rest be about if he was gone?
 
Thanks for writing.
        
Yours Sincerely, 
A reader

-----------------------------------------------------------

Kommentarer
Postat av: mom

Visst märks det att ditt engelska ordförråd utökats enormt under din USA-tid. Det syns i dina texter och kommentarer. ibland får man ta fram lexikonet.

2008-02-02 @ 11:47:16

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0