The Sour Smell of Homesickness

Right outside the windows is a big pond for collecting rainwater. It's not very pretty, but a far better view than staring into some neighbor's bedroom. To add to the feeling, it has been named Lake Åsa, which of course gives it a sense of greatness. Also, I have gotten used to the constant croaking of the huge frog colony living on the property. It's surprisingly soothing falling asleep to their orchestra.
                             
But now something new is happening at the pond. Since yesterday, the pond is drained and today a big bulldozer dug up load after load of marsh mud, drove a couple of hundred feet away and dumped it outside the fences. (Perhaps they are building a big swimming pool just for me, in which case I consider asking for a water slide from our bedroom window. I wonder if that is too straight forward.)
        
To the point - when I came home today, the air smelled of sour seaweed. I don't know if my senses added the smell of sea salt, but I can swear I felt it. It smelled just like Öresund, when the dark piles of seaweed on the shores start to rot. And for a brief minute, as I filled my lungs with the stinky air, my heart ached.
                  
Isn't it crazy - the things that awakes homesickness?
            

88514-1066

Öresund. I miss thee.

Kommentarer
Postat av: mom

Öresund väntar på dig.

2007-11-10 @ 12:17:03
Postat av: Brother

It´s not much to long for at this time of year.. Trust me, I´d rather be where you are!

2007-11-13 @ 21:22:19

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0