Some A's, a B, and misplaced Commas.

Yesterday I had my first mid-term; in British Literature. I've been nervous, as always, and studied hard, hard, hard. My main concern with in-class writing is the spelling. At the computer I can play around with the language, but when I suddenly have to rely on my own vocabulary I am much more limited. Usually the teacher takes points off for grammatical mistakes, and I'm sure I have some. Hopefully she has a little more sympathy for an alien like me, but who knows.

In general I'm doing well in school. For the American Literature class we write papers three times a week, and so far I've gotten the highest score on all of them except one, and that was due to a misunderstanding. In the British Literature class we wrote a short paper last week, and that came back with an A-. The minus bugs me, but still. In the Folklore and Literature class we handed in a comparison sheet of four different versions of Cinderella. I got a straight A on that. In the Grammar class we wrote a paper about a self experienced language situation. The teacher graded the content and the language of the essay separately. I got a straight A on the content but only a B+ on the language. My main issue is punctuation, more specifically where to put commas. These tiny little marks, which I'm used to placing wherever I feel like it, suddenly have to follow regulations and strict rules. According to my teacher misplacing a comma is the eight death sin, and lowers the grade of any paper. From now on, we've declared war on Comma Splices (misplaced commas).


88514-391

CS as in Comma Splice.

Want to practice English grammar? Go to Towson's Online Writing Support.
For something that's actually sort of fun, chose Commonly Confused Words.

Kommentarer
Postat av: mom

heja heja, kämpa på min tös

2007-03-02 @ 18:06:22

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0