A Thousand Things to Tell

School started last week and it's taken all my time to settle in that situation. It's incredible how much of habit creating creatures we are and how much it messes with our inner stability when our patterns change. Right now, everything here is new, and as much as all of that is fun and exciting, it's also draining at times.
                
My schedule for school this semester is great. I'm taking four classes, all of them on Mondays and Wednesdays, which means I'll only be in school two days a week. I can either drive or take the bus to school; it takes about the same time either way, half an hour or so. The bus leaves only a few blocks from our apartment complex and goes directly to the University, so chances are I'll take the bus most days.


88514-1337

My New Best Friends.


These are the books Texas State University wants me to read during the months to come. I wonder if I'll even have time to catch my breath in between.


88514-1338

My New Identity.

With a fake smile, I accept my new role and become a Texas State BobCat. It's incredible how with every new commitment you make in this world, there is a new number to memorize. 565894 is from now on synonymous to my name.


-   -   -   -   Austin, a pretty cool hot place   -   a pretty, cool, hot place   -   -   -   -  

88514-1331

Austin holds the Capitol of Texas, which means that Texas State's Government operates from here. This beautiful building is where the political top shots go to work every day.


88514-1333

The Texas Capitol - the perfect place for a starry fence.


88514-1332

Congress Avenue runs from the Capitol, through Austin City, and ends down in the southern outskirts of Austin, right where Marty and I live. On its way, it runs over Congress Bridge, where the bats live.


-   -   -   -   Austin Hot Sauce Festival, anno 2007   -   -   -   -

88514-1341

Texas loves hot food - Austin loves festivals. Put them together and you have Austin Hot Sauce Festival - the perfect event for those who can't imagine a better way to spend a hot summer day than slurping liquid fire. One cool thing about the festival was the entrance fee: three cans of food (or $5). The annual event raises food and money for the Capital Area Food Bank to help the poor.


88514-1322

88514-1323

88514-1326

It was about 100 °F, 38 °C, last Sunday. Still, a countless amount of people lined up around the tables in Waterloo Park to dip into one sot sauce after the other - a true challenge for the taste buds.


88514-1324

88514-1325

88514-1330

This lady charmed us all, but I wonder if anyone bought her flowers.


-   -   -   -   Colorado River   -   -   -   -

88514-1318

A peaceful picture of a beautiful place. The Colorado River flows through Austin (although its called Austin Lake for a little bit). This is just north of the city.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Brother

I totally know what you mean. I´m the biggest habit creating creature there is. This is my biggest "fear" of becoming a parent. My whole world will be upside down :-)
Looks like you found yourself a great town. I´m jealous of the weather you have there.. Say hello to Marty and "The bobcat of Slaughter Lane" from me!

2007-08-31 @ 23:52:43
Postat av: jenny

hej! hoppas allt är bra med dig och att allt går bra med skolan :) kramar

2007-09-25 @ 08:16:20
URL: http://cookiefactory.blogg.se

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0