Stockholm Insomnia

It has come to my knowledge some of you request further information about my capital outing. Well... I had planned this long story about the whole thing, but as I started to write, it all got to be way too complicated. Believe it or not, I can be a little difficult and particular about writing sometimes.
  
If I had written though, I would have told you all about how
  
... I manage to make a fool out myself time after time at the airport and plane on the way to Stockholm.
(Here are pieces of advice for future travelers. When you check in your bags at those self-check-in-machines, do not forget to grab the identification strip for the bag. It is awfully embarrassing getting up to the baggage drop without it. Also, when you walk onto the plane with a boarding ticket that seems to say 150, remember few planes have that many rows. Read it as 15D. If you ask for seat one-fifty people will treat you like it is your first time flying. When you then finally get up to your seat and manage to squeeze in your bag and winter jacket in the storage box, make sure you sit down at the actual number on your ticket. There might be someone else claiming 16D as their seat if you do not. Last, turn your cell phone off before they remind you on the speakers. You risk having to get up when everyone else are seated, opening the storage box and dig your bag out from behind five others) 
   
... I got lost
walking from Stockholm central station to the hotel (at 10 PM). 
   
... when I thought I'd finally found the hotel I stood for a couple of minutes trying the code at the wrong door, the wrong address. After a while I read my notes and realized I was looking for number 58 and not 52.
   
... I laid awake ALL NIGHT at my hotel room. Finally I told myself it was well spent money since I actually experienced every minute of my stay there.  
   
... the interview I had spent countless hours worrying about and preparing myself for turned out to be a thirty second talk with a man behind a counter. And that after I had waited in line OUTSIDE the embassy for ONE HOUR and in the waiting room inside for two and a half hours. BUT, most importantly, I got the visa without any problems. Yeah! 
   
... I got lost on my way from the hotel back to the central station. 
I know some might say there is a pattern here but the only reason I got lost the second time is that I kept to the minor streets since I was on the phone.
    
... at the airport before flying home, I reported a suspicious couple to the guards. A young, foreign girl argued with an older man and yelled she wanted her passport back. I saw a potential crime and did my duty as a citizen.
            
.... they called out my name in the speakers at the airport because I was late for boarding. However I stood twenty meters from the gate talking to mom on my cell. (To my defense I have to say I really was not that late. When I finally got on the plane all people had not even sat down yet)
   

To summarize it, it is an unbelievable relief to have the visa approved.
That means all major worries are over. Everything is pretty much done now and I am all set to go.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Brother

Ha ha... I feel for you, but i can´t stop smiling when I imagine you with your boarding ticket looking for row 150 in a plane with maximum 35 - 40 rows.. :-) Glad it turned out so well in the end.

2006-12-23 @ 09:42:21

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0